In My Sewing Room in June

IMG_1315I must admit, I got lots more sewing done in June than I ever expected. It seemed to have rained more days than it was sunny. My garden refused to grow without sun, as I waited 2 extra weeks for radishes and spinach. In fact, it took so long, I thought I planted them wrong. But that was not the case. Once the sun came out, my salad garden was great. But, yes, I sewed a few things. This little boy quilt is for Kelly’s friend. It’s such a great pattern. This fabric has little bees and bee hives, and some stripes, and a plaid…so fun.

Then on one of the blogs I read, the blogger started a scrap quilt-along. I organized my scraps a few weeks ago and knew I had to follow along. I really wanted to make something with just scraps, but I didn’t have a clue where to start. Crazy Mom Quilts blogger Amanda wrote a book called No Scrap Left Behind. This pattern is one of the quilts in the book.  It started with 1 – 2 inch strips, 5″ long. I just kept sewing them together until I could make a 4.5″ by 8.5″ block. I made 48, then sewed them together with 4.5″ blocks and 8.5″ blocks. The picture is of just the first half going up on my design wall. As of tonight, I have 3 rows left to sew. I must finish that before we go on vacation Saturday morning. That may not be too difficult…rain is in the forecast. But it’s predicted for AFTER my golf league tomorrow morning. Whew!

Leave a Reply

