Birthday Weekend

IMG_0316It started out on Saturday. I traveled to Kewaunee for a birthday gathering for my mother.  98 years. Hard to imagine but she’s doing fine. Her body doesn’t like movement, as her elbow, shoulder and finger joints refuse to move at times. But she gets around fine at her assisted living apartment, and wins most of the money at their sheepshead games–she’s the only one who can remember which cards are played.

 

Four of the siblings were there to celebrate with her. We gathered for the picture, but had to reposition ourselves so we stood in birth order. Totally Jim’s idea, but it works. Right to left is oldest to youngest in second picture. Oldest and youngest were unable to attend. Joanne, Lois (deceased), Elayne (deceased), Judy, me, Jim, Mari, Debbie. My mom was #2 of 6 and is the only one remaining in her family. But they produced lots of cousins for me: over 60. I know. Isn’t it great?

Then I had to return home so I could attend a party for Hailey. She turned 11 on Sunday. But first I had to make her birthday cake. Monster cookie icebox cake. She picked out the recipe, I made the cake. Cookie butter, cream cheese, whipped cream for the filling. Layered with chocolate chip cookies and chocolate chips, peanut butter cookies and m and m, caramel cookies and Heath pieces. More whipped cream on top. Yum.IMG_0326then she opened presents. I bought her a sun dress, shorts long enough to wear to school, and a summer top. Kelly got her nail polish and nail art, hair barrettes, and lip balm. She got lots of money, too, but presents are more fun to open.

I love Memorial Day weekend just for the birthdays. I got lots of family time with my mother, I stayed with my sister, Kelly spent 3 days with us and we saw the grandgirls and Dan and Kari. Couldn’t ask for better company.IMG_0372

Leave a Reply

