Where Have I Been?

I have been playing in my sewing room.  These two blocks are leftovers from projects I did last year and the year before.  Both will probably end up as pillow covers unless I can think of some other use for them.  I love half-square triangles because they can make so many different patterns.  The one on the left is from Jeni Baker’s book Half Square Triangles.  She has close to a hundred patterns and lots of quilts, too.  I picked one I liked and went with the blocks I had left.  It’s so cute.  The one on the right is larger. It ended up being 18″ square.  The first one is 16″.  Those will be some pretty big pillows.IMG_1241Then this happened.  Can anybody sew together 64 half-square triangles without making a mistake?  That seam ripper sitting next the block was useful.  It’s all correct now and waiting for a pillow and a chair to sit on.

IMG_1247My next project was a table runner I made with charm squares I received in a quilt box from the Fat Quarter Shop.  Moda color of the year is flamingo, and I received a charm pack of the color. I also got the floral charm pack earlier and the two seemed to fit together. I have a table runner from that same pattern in red and apple fabric for fall.  This one seemed suited for spring and summer on my side table.

Speaking of spring, that’s what I’m waiting for.  Last Saturday it was warm, 70 degrees.  I went to a landscape center and bought the best compost ever.  Pure cow manure, no seeds, no weeds, nor straw; just pure, unadulterated manure.  I covered my raised bed garden and enhanced my flowerbeds.  I’m really wanting the weather to get warm so I can get some early seeds in the garden: lettuce, radishes, broccoli, parsley, onions.  I’m watching gardening videos, planning my summer landscape.  But until it gets warm in Wisconsin I’ll remain in my sewing room.

Leave a Reply

