Back to the Sewing Room

IMG_1204

A little boy I do not know will be using this quilt as he grows into a toddler.  While in California a Facebook friend invited those who wished to, to a long distance baby shower for her sister who now lives in Connecticut.  Both she and her sister were students of mine and I very much wanted to participate.  Best part was that I didn’t have to go to a shower, but could send a gift.  Of course, I love making quilts and baby quilts are so fun and easy.  I wasn’t home in time to get the quilt made and in the mail by the deadline, but I got it done and sent, not in time for the official opening of the gifts, but in plenty of time before the baby arrives.

The name of the pattern is Dapper, from Camille Roskelly. It’s a bit bigger than a baby quilt so he can use it as a toddler in a youth bed.  I hope he uses it for many more years than that…

I tried something new on this quilt; I used a stencil to mark and quilt a border.  I used a water soluble marker and stitched over the lines.  The first border I sewed isn’t so great, but once I got the hang of it, it went fine.  I used the border between the columns and around the edges. I quilted the pinwheel columns with straight lines spaced at various widths. I guess you could call them organic straight lines.  I love the way it turned out, and I hope Mom, Dad, and Baby know they are loved.IMG_1209

Leave a Reply

